770-609-1247 | Division of Assets and Property – Georgia Divorce Attorneys

Coleman Legal Group, LLC

Call 770-609-1247 to speak with a Georgia divorce and family law attorney experienced in asset division.

Division of Assets and Property - Georgia Divorce AttorneysUnder Georgia law, divorcing couples will need to divide the property that was obtained during the marriage. Georgia law considers property anything that you own that has the potential to generate income; this can include your car, furniture, money in bank accounts, 401(K) accounts, Roth IRAs, retirement plans, trusts, stock options, businesses, home/rental properties, and even your profession. Property is divided into two subcategories, including “real property” which includes all real estate, and “personal property,” which includes most of everything else.

The law in Georgia views marriage as a relationship between partners, and takes into account all contributions to the marriage, whether they are monetary or non-monetary. That means that even if one partner never earned a dollar, but contributed to the household in other ways, they are still entitled to equitable division of the marital property.

The only property that is not divided in a divorce under Georgia law is non-marital property. This refers to property acquired before marriage through inheritance or gift by a third party or that which is excluded from division by a premarital (or post marital) agreement.

If the couple cannot agree on how marital property shall be divided, the court will decide for them, taking into consideration the following circumstances as they pertain to the case:

  • The contribution to the marriage and its well-being/ contribution to the family and its well-being (both monetary and non-monetary)The value of all property interests of each spouse (i.e. Do you have non-marital property that could generate an income for you in the absence of marital property?)
  • The economic circumstances of each spouse and their future ability to earn a living comparable to the standard of living during marriage
  • The duration of the marriage
  • The age and physical/mental condition of the parties
  • How and by whom the marital property was acquired and what effort went into acquiring it
  • Other factors that are relevant to the case (including children, other awards or provisions made by the court in favor of one party, etc.)

Our main office is located in Alpharetta Georgia at: 11539 Park Woods Circle, Suite 304, Alpharetta, GA 30005.  We also have offices conveniently located at:

Alpharetta Georgia
Park Woods Commons
11539 Park Woods Circle
Suite 304
Alpharetta, GA 30005
Phone: 770-609-1247 | Map

Atlanta Georgia
Colony Square
1201 Peachtree Street, 400
Colony Square, Suite 200
Atlanta, GA 30361
Phone: 770-609-1247 | Map

Dunwoody, Sandy Springs
GA 400, Atlanta Georgia
1200 Abernathy Rd
Building 600
Atlanta, GA 30328
Phone: 770-609-1247 | Map

Cumming Georgia
The Avenue Forsyth
410 Peachtree Parkway
Building 400, Suite 4245
Cumming, GA 30041
Phone: 770-609-1247 | Map

Johns Creek, Duluth GA
11555 Medlock Bridge Road
Suite 100
Johns Creek, GA 30097
Phone: 770-609-1247 | Map

Duluth Georgia
2180 Satellite Boulevard
Suite 400
Duluth, GA 30097
Phone: 770-609-1247 | Map

Kennesaw Georgia
TownPark Center
125 TownPark Drive
Suite 300
Kennesaw, GA 30144
Phone: 770-609-1247 | Map

1755 North Brown Road
Suite 200
Lawrenceville, GA 30043
Phone: 770-609-1247 | Map

Georgia Areas We Serve

Coleman Legal Group, LLC’s divorce and family law attorneys handle cases in the following cities and communities: Atlanta, Alpharetta, Roswell, Johns Creek, Milton, Cumming, Sharon Springs, MariettaSuwaneeSandy Springs, CantonWoodstock, Holly Springs, Douglasville, Kennesaw, GainesvilleNorcross, Lawrenceville, Midtown, Inman ParkDuluthBuckhead, Dunwoody, ViningsSmyrna, Covington, Conyers, NewbornMansfield, Oxford, Social Circle, Porterdale, Buford, Sugar Hill, Mountain ParkDacula, Ball Ground and Starrsville.

Our Georgia divorce and family law attorneys frequently handle cases for clients residing in the following counties: Fulton, Gwinnett, Forsyth, Cobb, DeKalb, Henry, Cherokee, Douglas, Carroll, Coweta, Paulding, Bartow, Hall, Barrow, Walton, Newton, Rockdale, Henry, Spalding, Fayette, Newton, Walton, Rockdale and Clayton.

Copyright © 2023 | Coleman Legal Group, LLC | All Rights Reserved. Coleman Legal Group, LLC • 11539 Park Woods Circle, Suite 304 • Alpharetta, Georgia 30005 • 770-609-1247 DISCLAIMER: The information you obtain at this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. You should consult an attorney for individual advice regarding your own situation.